Interview: Dave McPherson

Dave McPherson is the engaging frontman of Brentwood rock band InMe, and a man who has seen both the good and the bad side of the music industry. In this interview he talks about his new album Dreamoirs and Pledge Music.

543188_10152389095415408_1027762259_n

For people who are unfamiliar with you please describe your musical style. 

I like to dip my toes into all sorts of styles really! My solo stuff is predominantly impassioned acoustic songs with a strong focus on melody.

You are on the verge of starting the Pledge Music campaign for your second album Dreamoirs, what can we expect from this album?

My proudest work to date! With the previous album ‘The Hardship Diaries’, some of it was rushed & recorded spontaneously whereas I did a lot more pre-production for this album so it’s a lot more focused and concise. ‘The Hardship Diaries’ was essentially a break up album whereas ‘Dreamoirs’ tackles varied subjects & not just my own love life.

This is the second time you’ve used Pledge Music to fund your album. What did you learn from your The Hardship Diaries campaign?

That there are some very kind and generous people who listen to my music! We reached the proposed 3 month target in 24 hours and they basically helped me get to the next level which is where I am now! I struggled to make ends meet for a few years but now I play & create music full time which was always my ultimate aim. It means I can push myself even further. I also learnt that I need to fulfil pledges as they come as I got behind last time and I don’t want that to happen again as it’s stressful to keep people waiting and to have a mountain as a to do list!

268218_10150675972930408_8028199_n

You have some unique items up for reward like Pillow Cases and Printed Paper. Were they your ideas? What was the thinking behind it? 

Basically everything is linked to the ‘Dreamoirs’ concept so things are to do with bedtime, lullabies etc! It’s a bit geeky and self indulgent but I like to have fun with ideas rather than just put CD, Tee Shirt, Hoodie etc. I came up with the list over 6-8 months based on refining what worked from previous campaigns and trial & error.

Your InMe band mate Gazz Marlow also has his own Pledge Music campaign running for his debut solo album. Is there any competition between the two of you? 

No not at all. Gazz is just starting out with his solo career whereas I’ve been building things up for a few years now. I pledged for his album too!

As well as writing Dreamoirs you are also doing a song a day challenge called The Good People Movement 365. How’s that going? 

It’s going really well, I’ve already recorded 40 songs so I’m well ahead of myself. It was daunting at first but it’s actually incredibly fun just spilling music out non stop and I’m learning a lot about melody and my songwriting whilst also collecting ideas for the next InMe and solo releases. The response from those involved has been amazing, they get 7 brand new songs a week and I think they’re strong. My brain doesn’t stop so this is a good form of medication!

734134_10152378833830408_1572045081_n

You play a huge amount of shows, both as a solo artist and as InMe’s frontman. What is it about the live environment you enjoy?

I love the emotional release, the different people, the travel & the fun. I explore a lot too, me & my brother often travel together and unearth scenic treasures around the UK/Europe etc! Obviously I like the ale too!

Finally what is it that you think separates you from other solo artists?

I guess I have an unorthodox method of work. A lot of bigger artists do things the conventional way and that doesn’t really interest me. When I was a teenager I’d try to write an album a day for example and the 365 song idea is me extending that idea and returning to my roots regarding music. It’s not all going to be gold but that’s not the point, it’s being involved in music constantly that makes me happy. A few years ago I had jobs I didn’t enjoy, I was unhappy in myself, not creating near enough music or playing live enough. Now I’ve achieved where I wanted to be, it’s like an addiction and absorbs me all the time. My work is now my play and I’m determined not to lose this.

5055_213564325407_5316611_n

As you can see Dave McPherson is a man with an intense passion for what he does and still feels he has a point to prove. I know one things for certain with his dedicated fan base eagerly awaiting his next move he can’t fail.

His Pledge campaign goes live at 12pm on the 1st of February.

Leave a Reply

